feregreat.blogg.se

Carbon copy cloner windows 10
Carbon copy cloner windows 10







carbon copy cloner windows 10

In this case, I’ve setup a backup folder located on a Lacie Thunderbolt drive connected to my computer. In the third step I select a destination of where I want my data copied to. Select a Destination & Customize How It's Copied You will notice that in the above photo, the destination is on the right and is selected the same way as the source. Next step is to setup where all of those ones and twos will be copied to. So 13-098-FSTP-CCC-Captures is the capture folder that we are shooting to, which is also inside the overall job folder. In our workflow everything is labeled by Year, Job Number, Agency, Client, Folder Type. The master folder includes all of the folders that I have already built inside of my master folder including all of the captures as they come in.

carbon copy cloner windows 10

Whether we are shooting medium format or 35mm, we are typically tethered to a computer so we can instantly have access to the files. In this example, I chose a capture folder I’ve already created for the job located on my internal solid state drive. This is especially easier to do with SSD’s because they are so much smaller than a standard HDD. As a rule of thumb, you should never fill your hard drive past 80% full, as the drive will slow down and the risk of problems become greater. I typically only shoot to an internal solid state drive that I keep less than 15% full. Here’s how it works:Īfter setting up the initial job folder for the entire job on my Mac, I open CCC and select “choose a folder” and then select the specific location of where that folder is on my hard drive. The production can continue all day without stopping to dump data. We don't ever have to stop and let a digital tech take over, or switch cards.

carbon copy cloner windows 10

Plus it does it in the background while we are shooting or reviewing images. It does a way better job than me fumbling through folders on various drives to make sure everything is copied in multiple locations. I do all of this by programing CCC at the beginning of the shoot and then just periodically check up on the program every few hours. Carbon Copy Cloner is my go to application for ensuring that the RAW, working, and exported files of a shoot are backed up regularly and in three locations at all times. If not, keep reading.Īs studio manager for a major studio, part of my job is protecting data. If you are already practicing this, then you get 5 stars and a red lollipop. If this sounds like you, then maybe it's time for you to take the manual labor out of file backup on shoots and put a program like CCC to work.

carbon copy cloner windows 10

We’ve all been victim to the dreaded dragging and dropping of folders onto hard drives only to manually match the exact GB’s from the source and the GB’s on the destination.









Carbon copy cloner windows 10